top of page
  • Writer's pictureElise

Virtual Cookbook Club Bonus Online Exclusive!

Updated: Aug 22

It was recently brought to my attention that certain individuals had additional allergies that weren't taken into account when planning my recipes. While as much as I try I can't always take everyone's allergies into account with every recipe, I did run across a recipe that could be a stand-in for either this month's or last (or both) and wouldn't wind up too sweet (as some said their modifications became). Besides which, I love the scent of cumin and cloves together (this month's mixed with last month's spice to put me over the moon). This recipe used both (though in a whole form instead of ground) and is a simple dish I have always loved, not to mention there are infinite combinations of extras you can do to it or add. So I thought I would share this extra recipe in hopes of extra inclusiveness.

By the way, in looking into the issue I discovered that no rice (even "glutinous" rice) has gluten. So if a future recipe calls for flour and you can't, you might be able to get away with rice flour, although as different flours behave in different ways, you might have do some research to be sure.

 

Online Exclusive: Golden Basmati Rice

As Adapted from Food.com for use by the Brown Deer Cook Book Club

Total: 25 min. ● Serves: 6-8

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (brown, white, or combination of) basmati rice

  • 4 cups water

  • 1/2 tsp cumin seed (or a large 1/4 ground)

  • 3/4 tsp turmeric

  • 5-6 whole cloves (or a small 1/2 tsp ground)

  • 1/3 cup chopped onions or

  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

  • 1/2 tsp salt (optional)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except salt (see below) in a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a gentle simmer, cover and let cook 15-20 minutes. If you want to do it traditionally, stir in the salt partway through. The original cook states they never use salt themselves but that you could probably put it in at the beginning too.


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page